Saga Sapphire

Yes Saga have released the name of the new beauty joining their fleet next year! Doesn’t quite roll off the tongue as easily as my friend Dirk’s Saga Diamond, which he named on a rendering he did last March, but apparently it was chosen by passengers. So glad it’s not Saga Rose 2 (or II), because she was a unique little girl. Captain Greybeard reports the maiden voyage will be from Southampton – yessssssssssssssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! – on the 26th March 2012. It will be our third to my knowledge (Rosie’s was during my 6 year ship break so I have no idea). Rubes arrived in 2005 after numerous years with Cunard.

Pearl II arrived (eventually!) in March 2010.

While we said a sad goodbye to Rosie a few months earlier in December 2009.

But back to the new one. I’m delighted they bought Bleu de France. I first saw this ship in September 1987 as Europa and liked her enormously, though it’s the only time I have and one of the first I photographed. It was the day before I went to Nottingham for a week to stay with a former friend and my dad and I headed to town to buy a new camera. What better way to try it out than from the ferry coming back? It was the second and last SLR we owned because both were useless.

Europa (V) in Southampton 25th September 1987

She’s undergone a few changes since then as well as owners but Saga will be reducing her passenger numbers by nearly half to bring her into line with the current fleet. I can’t wait to see her in a year from now!

Meanwhile here is Saga Rose and Saga Ruby together for the last time in Southampton as they prepared to sail on their joint world cruises.

2012 heralds a new era for Saga Cruises with their third ship plus joint sailings in January with Rubes and Pearly. Exciting times!

This entry was posted in Hapag-Lloyd Cruises, Saga Cruises, Ship Stalking, Southampton and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saga Sapphire

  1. Dirk says:

    Patricia, thanks for mentioning me :o)

    Just now found this post. Anyone who’d like to see my idea of Sapphire as Diamond, please click here to find my image:

Leave a Reply

