Norwegian Epic Cruise – Palma de Mallorca to Barcelona

My tour was Scenic Palma and Valldemossa, meeting in the Manhattan Room for 8.45am. Since it was going to be the last tour called, I could quickly pop back to the padded cell for something. Annette was there when I came out and asked if I was going to the dinner some of the other solos were going to but I’m booked in La Cucina so said no. After I grabbed what I forgot, went back to the lift and bumped into Hannah and Mimi. They know of people on our Livorno who walked out of the Blue Man Group because they didn’t like it. Our tour was called and I got in the lift and it turned out Len and Julie plus the other couple from our table were in it too. Len, Julie and I were bus 21 and they were 22. First stop was somewhere or other to get some panoramas and a castle. 10 mins there.

Off up the mountain to Valldemossa where we had an hour. We had a drink included but had to buy any of the buns, which were €1.85. I had the hot chocolate. It was all very nice but I think the tour company are on commission. Before we reached the Sa Foganya bar & restaurant, the guide was trying to encourage us to buy gold from a shop.

After that was back to Palma to visit a pearl factory and again, the guide badgered to buy things, saying precisely which were the best items. Julie spent so much time finding ideal brown pearl necklaces only for them not to accept American Express. I did like a nice set comprising choker, bracelet and earrings (rare to get a matching set) for €39.95 but didn’t succumb to temptation. Probably find something similar for less elsewhere. The bullring across the road was the penultimate point on the tour.

Bull ring

I chatted a little to the guide. He’d been all over the south coast, including the “Island of Wight” when he lived in Bournemouth a while. Off past the cathedral, 10 minute photo stop then back to the ship.

Cathedral


Lunch! Took some up close and personal photos of Silver Spirit plus got the other two since it’s sunny. Padded cell beckoned and I hadn’t been there long when a maintenance man knocked on the door. He’d been told the bed was loose. They just noticed???? It’s been creaking and wobbly ever since I got here!


All the mess, none of the fun!

Sailaway. Silver Spirit was flipping going so I got her off the berth both ways. Then it was our turn, leaving the AIDA and Thomson.



I popped into the Lounge after seeing there were still some people about. Some were going to Moderno for dinner and while Annette had implored me to go, I stuck with my booking in La Cucina. It was very nice but the host was a little suspicious maybe I had finished within 35 minutes. Well I was the only one at my table!

My view from La Cucina


Chicken pizza


Chicken and cheese pasta

Finished off the internet after putting my case out then bed and it was another bumpy night just like the start!

Notice on the safe door


Yes I can see a 6 foot bloke being suffocated very easily!!!

And so back to Barcelona this morning. Carnival Magic was in already but in front so I couldn’t see her. Ryndam was arriving as I went to get breakfast.

Back where we started


Ryndam arriving


Carnival Magic

Costa Luminosa was followed by Grand Holiday but I had to go before the Costa had docked.

Grand Holiday & Costa Luminosa

Our colour was called at 7.20am, just as I got back to the padded cell, which was 25 minutes early and we were dumped unceremoniously at T2 (second drop) at 8.30am.

Carnival Magic, Costa Luminosa & Norwegian Epic


Carnival Magic & Grand Holiday (formerly Carnival Holiday)

The transfers are the only thing I am not happy about but I don’t know whether that’s down to NCL or the company with the buses. It was a much better process when Celebrity did it. At least we could all check in, on the ground floor instead of usual place I had to wait a year before, but it was still far too long to wait. Carnival passengers had been kicked off about the same time, including those on our flight. Shame the cruise was over. Will definitely go back on Epic again. Jade was my favourite despite only having Gem to compare to. I loved Epic last year despite the nightmare trip and still think she’s fabulous. For such a large ship, she never felt crowded at all. Though I’m hoping we Northern Europeans get a preview in 2013 of Norwegian Breakaway. It’s just a shame they’ve reduced the Studio cabins by more than half. If promoted right they could be a big hit.

This entry was posted in AIDA Kreuzfahrten, Carnival Cruise Lines, Costa Cruises, Cruises, Holland America Line, Iberocruceros, Mediterranean, Norwegian Cruise Line, Ship Stalking, Silversea Cruises, Thomson Cruises and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Norwegian Epic Cruise – Palma de Mallorca to Barcelona

  1. Liam says:

    I Would love to know what happened to prompt the suffocation signs on the safe.

Leave a Reply

