Norwegian Epic versus Norwegian Breakaway

When the new Breakaway class of NCL ships were announced, there were inevitable comparisons drawn between the earlier model, Epic. Now Epic is Marmite – you either love or hate her. Personally, I love her although do admit she’s not the prettiest ship sailing the high seas and has many design flaws. They could drastically improve her looks by painting her monobrow white so it’s not such an eyesore. Breakway, on the other hand, does have the looks but also appears to be a squashed Epic. They do have something in common though – both did a two night jolly from Rotterdam, an overnight from Rotterdam to Southampton and a transatlantic from Southampton to New York. I did Epic’s overnight in 2010 while I’m on Breakaway’s transatlantic this time as I was told when I booked there wouldn’t be one after Epic’s nightmare. However, I was in the Netherlands on the 26th April 2013, the day Breakaway arrived in Rotterdam, so took the train from Amsterdam to have a look. The following pictures are Epic and Breakaway in Rotterdam almost three years apart.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Aurora Cruise 468
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Aurora Cruise 477
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Aurora Cruise 531

At the time of writing I haven’t been to Mayflower Park for photos in Southampton as I’ll do that when I go across to board. So that’s the exteriors. And interiors? Can’t wait to find out if much is the same or not.

This entry was posted in Northern Europe, Norwegian Cruise Line and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Norwegian Epic versus Norwegian Breakaway

  1. dreamyphil says:

    i have not been on any but i recommend the breakaway by far! All my friends who have been on the epic said it was awful! the only good part on the epic is the haven suites. So go on the breakaway. The Water slides r a lot better. The epic is not a good ship. there u go

    • I agree. I love Breakaway and Getaway though there are some public areas on Epic I prefer. Epic was the practice. Breakaway and Getaway the perfection. 🙂

    • Gord says:

      How can you recomend anything if you have never been aboard.
      We have sailed Pride of America and Epic, Both are very different and would sail both again. Sailing Breakaway in November on the 12day out of New York. I expect it to be great but Epic set the bar very high!

      • Hi Gord. It’s very difficult to recommend anything. When I sailed on Breakaway I found I was always comparing to Epic. I tried not to but preferred certain areas on Epic. Breakaway is a wonderful ship though and the most stable I’ve sailed on. A particular favourite place of mine was the Waterfront. It’s more open than a Promenade deck (though you have the Epic-type Prom one deck below) and nice just to watch the world go by. Have a wonderful time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

